New Building opened January 13, 2020
Student helped by teacher across stream
Student and teacher making apple pie
Students playing Frisbee golf
Students playing on playground equipment
Boy Using Typewriter
Student and teacher at computer

 
 

Upcoming Events  

Friday, September 30 & Saturday, October 1:  NC Track and Field in Indiana

Friday, October 7:  HOMEGOING
Classes dismiss at 12:10 PM
Dorms close at 1:00 PM

Monday, October 10:  CLOSED; Native American Day Holiday

Tuesday, October 11:  No Classes
Parent / Teacher Conferences
Dorms open at 10:00 AM

Wednesday, October 12:  Classes Resume 

Tuesday, October 25:  6:30 PM  "Pumpkin Carving" with Aberdeen Lions Club

Wednesday, November 16:  School Pictures by Lifetouch

(TENTATIVE) Tuesday, December 6:  5:00 PM  Student Christmas Party with Aberdeen Lions Club

Friday, April 28 & Saturday, April 29:  NC Forensics (Round 3) and Swimming in Ohio

Update from the Superintendent 

The South Dakota School for the Blind is happy to welcome students and staff back for the 2022-2023 School Year.  The summer sessions have been very memorable and we can’t thank the staff enough for their work this summer.  Students had some great opportunities and experiences.  This school year will be used to implement a number of new curriculums and software platforms.  We have purchased a new social studies curriculum, employability resources, and a digital software life skills platform.  These new materials will help our staff and students meet content standards and the educational needs of our students. 

We look forward to a great year and, as always, please stop in for a visit
at the school if you are in the Aberdeen area. 

  (Superintendent Dan Trefz) 

Contact Us

View Larger Map

605 14th Avenue SE
Aberdeen, SD 57401

Phone: 605-626-2580
Toll-Free: 888-275-3814
Fax: 605-626-2607