New Building opened January 13, 2020
2022 Graduates
Students at SPURS riding horses
Students with carved pumpkins
Students using their mobility skills
Students at white cane day walk

 
 

Upcoming Events  

Friday, December 16:  10:45 AM Christmas Program (open to the public)
HOMEGOING:  Classes dismiss at 12:10 PM; Dorms close at 1:00 PM

Monday, December 19 through Tuesday, January 3:  No Classes

Friday, December 23:  CLOSED

Sunday, December 25:  Christmas Day

Monday, December 26:  CLOSED; Christmas Holiday Observed

Sunday, January 1:  New Year's Day

Monday, January 2:  CLOSED; New Year's Day Holiday Observed

Tuesday. January 3:  No Classes; Dorms Open at 1:00 PM

Wednesday, January 4:  Classes Resume

Monday, January 16:  In Session; Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

March 1 - May 5:  SD ELA & Math Assessments; SD Science Assessments; SD Science Alt Assessments

March 13 - April 28:  SD ELA & Math Alt Assessments

Friday, April 28 & Saturday, April 29:  NC Forensics (Round 3) and Swimming in Ohio

Update from the Superintendent 

The South Dakota School for the Blind is happy to welcome students and staff back for the 2022-2023 School Year.  The summer sessions have been very memorable and we can’t thank the staff enough for their work this summer.  Students had some great opportunities and experiences.  This school year will be used to implement a number of new curriculums and software platforms.  We have purchased a new social studies curriculum, employability resources, and a digital software life skills platform.  These new materials will help our staff and students meet content standards and the educational needs of our students. 

We look forward to a great year and, as always, please stop in for a visit
at the school if you are in the Aberdeen area. 

  (Superintendent Dan Trefz) 

Contact Us

View Larger Map

605 14th Avenue SE
Aberdeen, SD 57401

Phone: 605-626-2580
Toll-Free: 888-275-3814
Fax: 605-626-2607