The SDSBVI is under the governance of the South Dakota Board of Regents, which is a division nominally within the Department of Education and Cultural Affairs. A Regent is appointed by the Governor for a six-year term and may be reappointed to successive terms. There are nine members of the Board, including one Student Regent.

They organize themselves and elect a president, vice president, and secretary from their memberships. The Board is reorganized into two committees: (A) Committee on Academic and Student Affairs, (B) Committee on Budget and Finance. Each Regent is assigned as a special representative of one of the institutions under the Board's jurisdiction. Each year a SDSBVI ceremonial Representative is appointed by the Board of Regents.

South Dakota Board of Regents Members

Please feel free to contact the South Dakota School for the Blind and Visually Impaired Administrative Staff and review the SDSBVI Organizational Chart.

Other institutions under the control of the Board: